November 24, 2004

AWARDS: International Emmy Awards 2004


The Illustrated Mum - A Granada Kids Production for Channel 4 (United Kingdom)

Synopsis: The Illustrated Mum brings to the screen the psychological depth and emotional complexity of Jacqueline Wilson's story of two girls' relationship with their alcoholic mother. Marigold's daughters, Dolphin and Star, are deeply affected by her mental instability but respond differently to it. Dolphin adores her magical, crazy mum, while Star just wants her to be normal.
The other nominees were:
31 minutos - #10 / Aplaplac Television Nacional de Chile (TVN)
Colombia / KRO in coproduction with Coraid (Netherlands)
Dunya & Desie - "Blind love" / NPS productions (Netherlands)



British shows win big at the 32nd International Emmy Awards - Star-studded Event Featured Graham Norton, Lenny Kravitz, Carson Kressley and Harry Belafonte
NEW YORK, November 22, 2004 - The highlights of the night were three wins by the United Kingdom's Channel Four: Twenty-Twenty's production of the breakthrough "Brat Camp" in the Non-Scripted Entertainment category; Granada Kids' production of The Illustrated Mum in the Children & Young People category; and Yipp Films' documentary The Boy Whose Skin Fell Off. Wall to Wall's biography George Orwell: A Life in Pictures (BBC TWO) received an International Emmy for Arts Programming. Germany took home the top Comedy Award with Studio Hamburg Berlin Produktion's "Berlin, Berlin"; "Waking the Dead" received the Drama Series award from BBC ONE; and Henry VIII - a Granada/WGBH Boston co-production in association with POWERCORP for ITV - was awarded the International Emmy for TV Movie/Mini-Series.

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced the winners of the 32nd International Emmy Awards tonight at a star-studded Gala event held at the New York Hilton, hosted by Graham Norton, host of Comedy Central's "The Graham Norton Effect" and "So Graham Norton," the International Emmy award-winning show from the United Kingdom's Channel Four. Joining him as presenters were: music greats Harry Belafonte and Lenny Kravitz; "Queer Eye For The Straight Guy" star Carson Kressley; "Queer 5 Experts dans le vent" stars Benjamin Bove and Junior; daytime drama stars Lesley-Anne Down and Michael E. Knight; PBS Chief Executive Officer Pat Mitchell; Luyu Chen, anchor of Phoenix Chinese Channel's "A Date With Lu Yu" program; National Vice Chairman of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Herbert A. Granath; broadcast news icon Don Hewitt; Chairman of Sun Media Investment Holdings Limited Lan Yang; and Sara Paxton, teen star of "Darcy's Wild Life" and "Summerland."
"In recent years British programs have been winning fewer International Emmys than in the early years of the Awards. This year they made a major comeback. Over 500 jurors from 38 countries participated in the judging and they have decided to recognize excellent British productions with the majority of the 2004 International Emmy Awards," said Academy President & CEO, Bruce Paisner, also President of Hearst Entertainment. "Tonight the Academy was honored to host a multi-national, multi-generational audience of international television professionals for the International Emmy Gala."

This year's Directorate Emmy Award was presented to Herbert Kloiber, Managing Director, Tele-München Group (TMG) for his outstanding contributions to the arts and sciences of international television. Dr. Herbert Kloiber is Chairman and majority shareholder of Tele-München Group (TMG). He acquired TMG in 1977 and expanded the company's initial production operation into distribution, channel operation, and theatrical, video, and television distribution, controlling rights for the second largest television program and film library in Germany. In 1989, Dr. Kloiber sold 50 percent of TMG to Capital Cities/ ABC. Prior to TMG, Dr. Kloiber worked in various capacities at Beta/Taurus from 1970 - 1976. In 1974, he was named Managing Director of Unitel, the film and television production division, which specialized in the production of opera, concert, and ballet films. Dr. Kloiber is a member of the Supervisory Board of the Bavarian Film Funding Organization and the Advisory Board of Hypo Vereinsbank, Germany's second largest bank. He is a member of the Board of Directors of Scandinavian Broad-casting Systems, RTL II and ATV.
Prior industry giants who have won the award include Ralph Baruch, founder of Viacom; Herb Granath, Chairman, Disney/ABC; Su-Ming Cheng, Chairman of China Television; Sam Nilsson, Director General of Swedish Television; Katsuji Ebisawa, President, NHK Japan Broadcasting; and John Birt, Director General, BBC, among others.
The International Emmy Founders Award was presented to MTV Networks International. The Founders Award is bestowed upon individuals and organizations whose unique creative accomplishments contribute to the quality of global television production. Led by MTV Networks International President Bill Roedy, the company was honored for revolutionizing music on television and supporting the fight against HIV/AIDS around the world. Mr. Roedy, who is also a UNAIDS Ambassador, was presented the award by multi-platinum recording artist Lenny Kravitz.
Under Mr. Roedy's leadership, the company pioneered the strategy of taking a local approach to an international business. With 75 localized television networks outside the U.S. across brands, MTV Networks International has more services than any other entertainment company, reaching a potential audience of more than one billion people in 164 countries. MTV is the world's largest television network and the leading multimedia brand for youth, with 80% of its viewers outside the U.S. Past recipients of the Founders Award include Sir Howard Stringer, Chairman and CEO, Sony Corporation of America; John Hendricks, Founder, CEO and Chairman of Discovery Communications, Inc.; Hisashi Hieda; Fuji Television, Robert Halmi, Hallmark; Don Hewitt, Executive Producer of 60 Minutes, Jim Henson; and Bill Cosby.
Additionally, Len Mauger, veteran Australian Channel Nine broadcaster, received the Ted Cott Award. This award is in recognition of his outstanding dedication to the Academy.
The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is the largest organization of global broadcasters, with members from 62 countries and over 350 companies. The Academy was chartered in 1969 with a mission to honor and encourage excellence in television programming produced outside of the United States by awarding the International Emmy Award in eight categories. The Academy is a unique, independent organization including the world's top television and media leaders who come together to exchange ideas, discuss common issues and promote new strategies for the future development of quality global television programming.


Chris Schuepp
Young People's Media Network - Coordinator
c/o ecmc (European Centre for Media Competence)
Bergstrasse 8 / 10th floor
D-45770 Marl

Tel: +49 2365 502480
Mobile: +49 176 23107083
Fax: +49 12 125 125 21981
Mailing list:

The YPMN is supported by UNICEF and hosted by the ECMC.

The opinions and views expressed in this message and/or articles and websites linked to from this message do not necessarily reflect the views of the United Nations or its agencies.

No comments: